

## <u>Agenda</u> 6<sup>th</sup> PNWER North American Arctic Leaders Roundtable Thursday, March 15, 2018 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Room 366 Time: 2:00 - 4:00 p.m. Register at:

### http://events.constantcontact.com/register/event?llr=mt6y4xbab&oeidk=a07ef4y9ury7d049def

#### 1:30 p.m. Networking Welcome

#### 2:00 – 2:05 p.m. Introduction of roundtable participants and welcome:

• PNWER President Oregon State Senator Arnie Roblan

#### 2:05 – 2:15 p.m. Comments on key issues in Alaska Arctic Policy:

- State Senator Cathy Giessel, Chair of the Alaska Senate Arctic Committee
- State Senator Bert Stedman, Chair of the Alaska Senate Transportation Committee
- State Representative Charisse Millet, Alaska House Minority Leader

# 2:15 – 2:45 p.m. Alaska Perspectives on U.S. Arctic Policy: U.S. Congressional Delegation from Alaska

- U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski
- U.S. Senator Dan Sullivan
- U.S. Representative Don Young

#### 2:45 – 3:05 p.m. Panel discussion on U.S. Arctic Policy and Arctic Shipping

- Emerging issues for North American Arctic Policy:
  - o Adrianna Muir, Senior Arctic Official, U.S. State Department
- North American shipping infrastructure:
  - o Mead Treadwell, President, PT Capital
  - Michael Sfraga, Director of Wilson Center Polar Initiative
  - Jeremy Mathis, Director of Arctic Research Program, NOAA

# **3:05 – 3:15 p.m.** Perspectives on Canadian Arctic priorities: Representatives from Canadian Embassy, and Territorial governments.

• Martin Loken, Minister of Political Affairs at the Embassy of Canada



• John Higginbotham, Senior Distinguished Fellow, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University and Senior Fellow, Arctic program, Centre for International Governance Innovation, Waterloo, ON

**3:15** – **3:55** p.m. Roundtable Discussion on the U.S. Arctic Strategy and implications for infrastructure and economic development in the North American Arctic-Invited roundtable participants to include:

- Alaska State Sen. Cathy Giessel, Chair of
- the Arctic Committee
- Alaska State Sen. Bert Stedman
- Alaska State Rep. Charisse Millett
- Drue Pearce, U.S. Department of Transportation
- Michael Sfraga, Director, Polar Initiative, Wilson Center
- Joe Balash, U.S. Department of Interior
- Chris Sands, John Hopkins SAIS
- Mead Treadwell, PT Capital
- Jeremy Mathis, NOAA Fellow
- Inuuteq Holm Olsen, Minister Plenipotentiary for Greenland, Royal Danish Embassy
- Lynne Platt, Woodrow Wilson Fellow

3:55 – 4:00 p.m. wrap up and next steps